Week 35: playing

folding-fractals-bookfolded-3-fractals

What happens when you just stop? This week I’ve been stopped in my tracks by a bad toothache. Two trips to the dentist later, one filling, one extraction and I’m laid up in bed with pain killers and nothing I can do except rest.

So what happens to me when I stop is I start to play. Freed from the pressure of the exegesis (copied, bound and handed in on time ~ thanks friend Annique) and with my work finished awaiting installation, I am finally able to look at new ways to activate my work. To bring movement and layering to the installation as another way to experience paper resonance.

In my bookshelf is the book by Paul Jackson, Folding Techniques for Designers: From Sheet to Form.[1] It is a dense book filled with step by step instructions on paper folding, starting from the simplest folds to very complicated ones. I thought it would be a good place to start. Although Japanese paper folding or origami has been around for over one thousand years; paper folding as a mathematical art form as been gaining great popularity since mathematicians have linked it to complex geometrical and algorithmic forms.It’s worth a look at the work done by Dr Erik Domaine who features on numerous YouTube videos with amazing geometric folded algorithms combining computer science with paper folding.

My paper folding was very simple. I want to create a circle fractal image within the square space made by arranging my four collages like a compass, north, south, east and west. In the centre will be a circular fractal image, however I wanted to ‘animate’ it. Folding layers of images into each other has provided a way to do this. Easy, fun and playful.

________________________________

[1] Paul Jackson, Folding Techniques for Designers: From Sheet to Form (London: Laurence King Prublishing LTD, 2011).

 

 

Leave a Reply

